Will medical students get access to Connect Care Mobility? How?

Yes. Connect Care mobile applications for smartphones (Epic's Haiku, Nuance's Dragon Medical One) and iPads (Epic's Canto) have unique advantages for many clinical workflows. Indeed, they are key to our hopes for secure clinical messaging, just-in-time ordering, patient list management, in-system dictation and secure image capture. Medical students are a big part of such info-flows.

So, how? Normally, physicians get their mobile devices configured, in-system dictation activated, and access to the production clinical information system (CIS) in personalization workshops. But medical students are not scheduled for those workshops.

Current plans are to create some virtual personalization workshops that support learners with mobility installs and configurations. In addition, a prescriber drop-in centre will be available onsite for the weeks immediately following launch. And the Connect Care Physician Manual covers essential mobility orientation.

In short, we will communicate multiple self-directed strategies that medical students can use to ensure that they take full advantage of Connect Care mobility.[ student, students, trainee, trainees, learner, learners ]

Will Connect Care allow Generic Logons to Shared Clinical Workstations?

Many computers at Wave 1 sites have logon credentials that are specific to the location (clinic, unit, ward, etc.). The associated userid and password are known to those who work there. The group credentials allow the Windows workstation (computer, computer/laptop on wheels, etc.) to not have to be logged on and off with every new user. Since unique user identification occurs at the level of the application (e.g. Connect Care), this is a safe convenience.

Some users worry that this convenience will be lost at Connect Care launch. It won't.

When Windows has been launched on a shared computer with group credentials, the computer screen will still have icons for logging on to Connect Care, Netcare and other systems. At the point of launch, the user must identify him/herself with their unique username and password. The work flow will not change.

Users must remember to logoff Connect Care (or "Secure" the Connect Care session) before leaving the shared workstation.

Users will encounter some new situations where switching of Windows profiles is facilitated by automated logons with proximity sensors and other technologies. Group accounts do not apply. [ access, generic, account ]